Olmsted Park

Commute by bicycle on dedicated pathways • Meet your neighbors for a dog walk after work • Look for the majestic Dawn Redwoods • Batter up at Daisy Field • Follow the path to Willow Pond

Experience the trails, woodlands and scenic views of Ward’s, Willow and Leverett Ponds. A dual path system, popular with runners and cyclists, also allows for a leisurely stroll. Olmsted designed the park as “a chain of picturesque fresh-water ponds, alternating with attractive natural groves and meads.” Originally named Leverett Park it was renamed in 1900 to honor its designer. Pathways, bridges, and plantings provide a series of vignettes with scene changes along the way. To help draw wildlife, Olmsted built two islands in Leverett Pond to provide shelter and seclusion for nesting birds.

Today, people are drawn to the athletic fields, the wildflower meadow and Allerton Overlook, the location of Summer Sundays in the Park concerts each summer. This park features hiking, walking, biking trails for all ages.

Every Sunday through 9/18, park rangers from Frederick Law Olmsted National Historic Site will be on-site at the Shattuck Visitor Center!

Stop by the Center at 125 The Fenway to chat with expert rangers and learn about Olmsted's "most important work," the Emerald Necklace.


SIGN UP